Early Career Investigator Award

The Organization for Human Brain Mapping has established an award recognizing an Early Career Investigator who has made significant contributions to the field of human brain mapping. 

Award Criteria:

  1. Be under 40 years of age on July 1, 2020; or
  2. Be within 10 years of completing postdoctoral fellowship or residency on July 1, 2020; and
  3. Have made significant contributions to the field of human brain mapping

    Please note: Current OHBM elected leadership are ineligible to receive OHBM Awards

Nomination Process
Nominations may be made by any individual other than the nominee and should include:

  1. A brief statement (in 1000 words or less) giving the reasons for nomination and commenting on the nominee's contributions to the field of human brain mapping
  2. A short biographical statement (no more than two pages) on the nominee, including: Name; Date of birth; Present affiliation; Current mailing address; Current phone, fax and email; Advance professional degrees (including institutions and dates); List of postdoctoral fellowships, residencies and professional appointments (including dates of service)
  3. A short list of *most notable* publications (in 300 words or less); URL of website (if available)

*The nomination period has now closed for the 2021 OHBM Annual Meeting.

Review Process
Nominations will be evaluated with the final selection made by the OHBM Council. The recipient will be notified in April 2021.   

The recipient will receive a cash award of $2,500 USD along with an engraved plaque. Both are presented to the recipient at the Annual Meeting. Awardee will be given the opportunity to give a brief remark during the Annual Meeting.

Questions? Please direct them to the OHBM Executive Office at info@humanbrainmapping.org.  

Past Early Career Investigator Award (Young Investigator Award) recipients include:

2020: OHBM Virtual I
Danielle Bassett, United States

2019: Rome, Italy
B. T. Thomas Yeo, Singapore

2018: Singapore, Singapore
Daniel Margulies, France

2017: Vancouver, Canada
Lucina Uddin, United States

2016:  Geneva, Switzerland
Timothy EJ Behrens, United Kingdom

2015:  Honolulu, United States
Simon Eickhoff, Germany

2014:  Hamburg, Germany
Mike Milham, United States

2013: Seattle, United States
Mark Woolrich, United Kingdom

2012: Beijing, China
Klaas Enno Stephan, Switzerland

2011: Quebec City, Canada
Christian Beckmann, Netherlands

2010: Barcelona, Spain
Heidi Johansen-Berg, United Kingdom

2009: San Francisco, United States
Thomas Nichols, United Kingdom

2008: Melbourne, Australia
Paul Thompson, United States

2007: Chicago, United States
Stephen Smith, United Kingdom

2006: Florence, Italy
John Ashburner, United Kingdom

2005: Toronto, Canada
Russell Poldrack, United States

2004: Budapest, Hungary
Christian Buechel, Germany

2003: New York City, United States
Geraint Rees, United Kingdom

2002: Sendai, Japan
Peter Bandettini, United States

2001: Brighton, England
Cathy Price, United Kingdom

2000: San Antonio, United States
Riitta Salmelin, Finland

1999: Duesseldorf, Germany
Randy Buckner, United States

1998: Montreal, Canada
Anders Dale, United States

1997: Copenhagen, Denmark
Julie Fiez, United States

1996: Boston, United States
Karl Friston, United Kingdom